Generic filters

LSHSS Editorial Board Roster


Holly Storkel, PhD (2019–2021)
University of Kansas

Contact Information

Dr. Storkel is a professor in the Speech-Language-Hearing: Sciences and Disorders Department and is the associate dean for Academic Innovation and Student Success in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Kansas. Her research focuses on children with speech and language disorders and their struggle to learn the sounds and words of the language. Central to her research is how to translate what is known about the nature of sound word learning deficits in children with speech and language disorders into effective treatment approaches. Prior to her appointment at the University of Kansas, Dr. Storkel was a National Institutes of Health (NIH) postdoctoral fellow and an assistant scientist in the Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences at Indiana University as well as a speech-language pathologist in Seattle, Washington. She completed her doctorate in speech and hearing sciences at the University of Washington, Seattle.

Dr. Storkel was awarded Fellow of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) in 2014. She served as an inaugural editorial board member for the Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research (JSLHR). She currently serves as chair of ASHA’s Science Advisory Board, where she has served since 2017. Previously, she served as chair of ASHA’s Research and Scientific Affairs Committee from 2011 to 2013.


Lisa S. Davidson

Washington University School of Medicine

John Heilmann

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Toby Macrae

Florida State University

Douglas Petersen

Brigham Young University

Katie Squires

Central Michigan University

Karla N. Washington

University of Cincinnati

Editorial Board Members

Suzanne Adlof, University of South Carolina
Genesis Arizmendi, University of New Mexico
Marlene Bagatto, Western University
Andrea Barton-Hulsey, Florida State University
Jennifer Brown, University of Georgia
Beatriz de Diego-Lázaro, Midwestern University
Kerry Danahy Ebert, University of Minnesota
Kelly Farquharson, Florida State University
Lisa Fitton, University of South Carolina
Nancie Im-Bolter, Trent University, Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Kelsey Klein, The University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Breanna Krueger, University of Wyoming
Suze Leitao, Curtin University, Western Australia, Australia
Linda J. Lombardino, University of Florida
Ashley Meaux, University of Montana
Stacey L. Pavelko, James Madison University
Heather Porter, Boys Town National Research Hospital
Leah Fabiano Smith, The University of Arizona
Anna Sosa, Northern Arizona University
Trina Spencer, University of South Florida
Michelle Therrien, Florida State University
Marleen Westerveld, Griffith University, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia