Julie Barkmeier-Kraemer, PhD (2018–2020)
The University of Utah

Contact Information

Division of Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery
University of Utah
50 N Medical Drive, 3C120
Salt Lake City, UT 84132
Phone: (801) 585-7143

ulie Barkmeier-Kraemer, PhD, CCC-SLP is a Professor in the Division of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, Clinic Director for the Voice Disorders Center, and adjunct faculty to the Communication Sciences and Disorders Department at the University of Utah.  Dr. Barkmeier-Kraemer served as coordinator for SIG 3: Voice and Voice Disorders (2001-2004), co-chaired the ASHA Annual Research Symposium on Neural Regeneration in 2009, served as ASHA’s representative to the AAO-HNS Guidelines on Improving Voice Outcomes after Thyroid Surgery and to the American Academy of Neurology Quality Measurement Set for Essential Tremor.  She also served on the ASHA Research and Scientific Affairs Committee (RSAC) that sponsors the annual “Lessons for Success” and the “Grant Review and Reviewer Training” programs. 

Dr.Barkmeier-Kraemer was involved in the development of the Consensus Auditory-Perceptual Evaluation of Voice (CAPE-V) and the Instrumental Voice Assessment Protocol (IVAP) Committee responsible for proposing standard methods for evaluating voice using instrumental methods.  She was awarded Fellow of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association in 2011.  Dr. Barkmeier-Kraemer’s research and clinical expertise addresses normal and abnormal respiration, voicing, breathing, deglutition, and the speech sciences.


Stacy Betz
Indiana University – Purdue University Fort Wayne 

Shelley B. Brundage
George Washington University

Anny Castilla-Earls 
University of Houston 

Mary K. Fagan
Chapman University 

Erinn Finke 
The University of Tennessee Health Science Center 

Rita R. Patel
Indiana University Bloomington 

Anastasia M. Raymer
Old Dominion University 

Nancy Pearl Solomon
Walter Reed National Military Medical Center 

Kristie Spencer
University of Washington 

Debra Suiter
University of Kentucky 

Editorial Board Members

Sharon Antonucci, Moss Rehabilitation Research Institute
Hayley S. Arnold, School of Health Sciences, Kent State University
Andrea C. Ash, The University of Utah
Tamiko Azuma, The University of Arizona
Kirrie J. Ballard, The University of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Anne Bothe Marcotte, University of Georgia
Adam Buchwald, New York University
Jose G. Centeno, Rutgers University
Heather M. Clark, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
James Coyle, University of Pittsburgh
Alycia Cummings, Idaho State University
Lauren Cycyk, University of Oregon
Jacinta Douglas, La Trobe University, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Julia Edgar, Truman State University
Elizabeth Erickson-DiRenzo, Stanford University
Memorie M. Gosa, The University of Alabama
Margaret Greenwald, Wayne State University
Pamela A. Hadley, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign
Nancy E. Hall, The University of Maine
Stacy M. Harnish, The Ohio State University
Jordan Hazelwood, Appalachian State University
Christine E. Holyfield, University of Arkansas
Jill Hoover, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Jessica E. Huber, Purdue University
Elizabeth Kelley, University of Missouri
Jennifer Kremkow, Elmhurst College
Kaitlin L. Lansford, Florida State University
Jacqueline Laures-Gore, Georgia State University
Erika S. Levy, Teachers College, Columbia University
Ciara Leydon, Sacred Heart University
Kenneth J. Logan, University of Florida
Lynn M. Maher, University of Houston
Bonnie Martin-Harris, Northwestern University
Jillian McCarthy Maeder, The University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Monique T. Mills, The Ohio State University
Giang Pham, San Diego State University
Samantha Procaccini, California University of Pennsylvania
Jeffrey Searl, Michigan State University
Jeff Sigafoos, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
Patti Solomon-Rice, San Francisco State University
Kristine Tanner, Brigham Young University
Amber Thiessen, University of Houston
Jarrad Van Stan, Harvard Medical School; Massachusetts General Hospital; MGH Institute of Health Professions
Mark VanDam, Washington State University